3 comments on “A Solitary Failure: The Waste, Cost and Harm of Solitary Confinement in Texas

  1. I watched a video recently that followed several men in solitary for several months. It showed the degrading of their mental state. one man stated at the beginning that he was strong enough mentally to deal with it. But the fact is, with that kind of deprivation they often end up mutilating themselves. They take them out of their cell, sew them back up, clean up the blood and then double their time in solitary each time they do it. They do it over and over and then one day they let them out and they kill someone. They are put in for disobeying one of their rules and turn them into killers once their mind is destroyed. Why why do they do that? Isn’t that the definition of insanity?

    Like

  2. I think your reply passed me by. I’ll see if i can find it. Reading these posts – I could have written them myself and there are posts on Jamie’s site that say the same thing. The first chapter of the book I’m writing is a day in Solitary. Not an actual days – but it could have been. From the things he has written, taking pieces of different letters and putting it into one chapter. i write and rewrite and add to while writing others. Now that he’s back in solitary after making it briefly up the ladder was very disheartening for him. This last time the even took away all his books for 4 months and I don’t know yet if he’s gotten them back. I just ordered 3 more for him. I hope he gets them. I really get worried about him when he takes too long between letters. One bummer for me is that my family doesn’t understand why I do this. I doubt my husband has read anything at all. My son says it’s too depressing so who wants to read stuff like that. My mother says I’m consumed, my sisters ignore me completely and my daughter – mother of Jamie’s son is just plain angry at me for shoving Jamie in her face. She doesn’t want to hear how he’s doing. His family ignores him and won’t help him. They don’t get it. Everyone needs at least one person they can count on. It’s just, a little encouragement would help. If you aren’t part of the solution you are part of the problem.

    Like

Leave a Reply

